White studio portraits

Name
Andrew
Edit My Images
Yes
Good morning fellow photographers.

I am a long time professional studio photographer, with 2 studios within my building, one white, one dark we also have gardens which we use during the spring summer months.

The question I have, the white studio, the one everyone still wants to be photographed in, is doing my head in!
To mix it up I have lots of different types of seating, which i can take in & take out where needed.
What can we do? I use the lighting in different ways, drop shadows ect also...
It just seems that every photo shoot is the same & this is now for 15 years....
Don't get me wrong, we are still well booked & people still give us great feedback & they repeat book for their other children ect...
But I am fed up with the same old stuff all the time, i'd love to hear your thoughts on this 1st word issue in photography.

Sincerely Andrew, a new member....

Welcome to TP. I see you have no answers yet and I can’t help, but maybe this would be better in the Talk Lighting and Studio section?

As I read this, it’s the age old conundrum.

The OP wants to run a successful business, creating images that are artistically rewarding. But the market wants images that are commercially satisfying.

IMHO it’s a business question, but not one there’s an easy answer to.

I think the complicated answer is to promote the hell out of the king of work you’re happier doing, in the hope that creates demand. The simple answer is just to refuse the white bg shoots, and get used to living on beans on toast.

Phil's reply is the unfortunate reality. If the white shots are paying your bills, they're doing their job despite being artistically unrewarding so until people start wanting other things, I'm afraid you're probably stuck with them. Maybe a load of alternatives framed in the reception/waiting area might help (when such areas are more populated!)