Wales Whiteford lighthouse.

Name
Gordon
Edit My Images
Yes
I am planning a short trip to the Gower peninsular in my motorhome at the end of March or early April. I would like to photograph Whiteford lighthouse and the Mumbles. I think I have identified a campsite close by ( Kennexstone) but if anyone has any other suggestions I would certainly be interested. I would like to attempt a Milky way shot whilst there but as I am a novice at this Genre I don't even know if it is possible - once again any suggestions would be welcome. Looking at Google maps there appears to be a 24hr car park close to Whiteford beach. As you can guess I am fishing for ideas and advice! Any suggestions for photographic locations would be welcome bearing in mind that I will have a greyhound with me and I am closing on 70 years old very fast so long hikes and scrambling over rocky outcrops is not on my agenda! I am not particularly tied to time so once I have finished there a move to another location would not be out of the question.
Any and all advice is appreciated.

The lighthouse is well worth a look, but it's a fair way along the beach (a mile or so I'd guess). Theres not much scrambling really, you can just walk along the beach more or less from the car park (small hill with path in between) the lighthouse itself is on roughish ground but more or less flat (mostly shells and small stones) but you'll probably get your feet wet if your going close to it with puddles.
Keep in mind it's only high and dry for a short time each side of low water (and hour maybe less?), the rest of the time you can't get right up to it, you can still get pretty close though. When the tides right out you can walk right out and touch it.
For a milky way off the top of my head I don't think it'll work, theres light pollution from across the eastury (bury port) and I suspect you'd need to get the eastury side for the angle (not sure) that would limit your time on site and you'd have to fit in with the tides.