Beginner Wide Angle Lens Help for a total beginner

Name
Fiona
Edit My Images
No
Hi everyone, I'm after a bit of advice. I’ve got an old (ish) DSLR that was my dad, It’s a Canon 400D and I was thinking about getting a wide angle lens for it. Nothing fancy, and even a second hand one, but I don’t know where to start looking.

I asked a photographer friend and he said this: With a wide angle lens if it’s a prime fixed focal length i.e. 24mm as opposed to a zoom lens the image quality is usually a little better but you’ll get more flexibility out of a shorter zoom range say 24mm-50mm for example.

Only problem is that I'm not too sure what this means, or where to start looking. Does anyone have any recommendations on specific lenses, or even brands.

I'm hopeful that a lens will make my photos look better but the worry is that it's me and not the camera that's the problem!

Welcome to the forum.

I was thinking about getting a wide angle lens for it
Why? - for the sake of a purchase? or for specific type of shot? - don't worry, we all occasionally want to buy something just for the sake of buying something..

I'm hopeful that a lens will make my photos look better but the worry is that it's me and not the camera that's the problem!
Most of the time it's the user. But let's see some examples of your photography, and why don't you explain the type of shot you want to take with a wide-angle...

It's because I had taken some shots, then a friend gave me a loan of a wide angle lens and they seemed much better and much more what I was looking for, so I thought if I could get a decent lens that didn't cost the earth it would be worth investing in

Last edited:
It's because I had taken some shots, then a friend gave me a loan of a wide angle lens and they seemed much better and much more what I was looking for, so I thought if I could get a decent lens that didn't cost the earth it would be worth investing in