Widescreen distortion?

MartynK

Opting Out.
Name
Martyn
Edit My Images
No
I've just returned to the UK and am using my wife's computer and widescreen monitor. It's a cheap Acer 19" and I wouldn't expect particularly good results, but it seems to distort photographs vertically in DPP and CS2. I have no previous experience with widescreen, which wasn't too common where I was living before. At a bit of a loss here. Can anyone make any suggestions? Thanks guys.

Are you sure the display is running at it's native resolution?

Ah, no. Could you excuse my ignorance and explain this? I've had a couple of CRTs and LCDs which worked well enough when I just plugged them in.

you need to right click on to the desktop in vista select Personalization for get XP might be properties
Any how you need to go to Display settings (properties) and this is where you see how to set it a slider will have low to high as you move teh slider to teh right or left you will see the number below change

whats the model number of the screen we can check the native res.

but no normally a widescreen should not affect an image in any way. but if the resolution of the screen is set wrong it might.

OK. The OS is XP Pro, and I can set the display to 1024 x 768, 1280 x 768 and 1280 x 1024. The monitor is an Acer 193W.

OK. The OS is XP Pro, and I can set the display to 1024 x 768, 1280 x 768 and 1280 x 1024. The monitor is an Acer 193W.

None of those, i bet the money on that the native res is 1440 x 900, if that option isnt there then you need to update your drivers.

I'll try this and report back later! Thanks everyone.

Downloaded the drivers, unzipped the file (3 folders) and installed them but I'm afraid this isn't making any difference, unless I screwed up somewhere. Could the videocard and/or drivers be an issue here? Thanks again.

After you installed the driver did new screen modes become available in display settings?