Wireless networks

R

RobbieW

Hi

I woke up last sunday and found that my belkin router would accept wireless connections, I tried everything I could thing of but it still wouldn't work. It would work through cabled connections, so in the end I gave up and bought a new one.

That worked straight away, until yesterday when that too stopped accepting wireless connections. Tonight after many reboots and many hours of playing it is once again happy.

I am starting to think that there maybe interferecnce from another network (I live in flats). If my pc wan't at the other end of my flat from my broadband connection I would scrap it altogether.

Does anyone else hate wireless sometimes? before people assume I am being a plonker, I work in IT and therefore most of the time I know what I am doing.

Rob

sometimes it can be a complete wankstain, but currently my networks rock solid, sometimes my laptop stops recieving the signal and needs me to disable and enable the wireless for it to work.

not as solid as cabling though, but its so inconvenient compared to wireless

Mine ran bullet proof until I got the Mrs a laptop with vista on. At first it refused to connect to the network wirelessly then I sorted that after messing around for a bit. Not long after that mine started to have a few problems. Recently its been very how can I put it without using bad language, very irritating. I hate Vista :bang:

I am glad its not just me then. Mine has been fine for years then it goes pete tong!

Sorry to hear your woe's, i wont touch vista

Why it works fine for many people.

I was doing a new server install Saturday with clients runninng both xp and vista and had no real problems.

I have been running Vista for over a year and it is the most stable op sys I've used on a regular P.C.

Don't other RF devices like cordless phones and those TV signal sender things work on similar frequencies?