Without doubt, the best negatives I have ever produced in 30 years of photography.

Name
Edward Bray
Edit My Images
Yes
In the last week I have been spending my spare time reading Barry Thornton’s excellent book ‘Edge of Darkness’ and which as you will discover from my spiel further on, this title is very apt, although it could have just as easily been called ‘Edge of the Light’.

Although there are various things in the book that made me question how I had been doing things for the past 30 years or more, there was one part in particular that made me sit up and really pay attention, this was the bit about how a much slower development with greatly reduced agitation, can, with the correct type of developer (this bit is important) increase apparent edge sharpness (acutance) and reduce grain. He also went on to explain how over enthusiastic agitation whilst shortening development times can actually give rise to a large increase in the amount of grain and the lowering of the acutance (apparent edge sharpness), neither of which is particularly welcome in the search for making a good negative suitable for the making of a truly ‘fine print’ (surely the holy grail for exponents of film photography).

So what actually is ‘acutance’, it is the ‘apparent increase’ in edge sharpness between high contrast areas in an image. It also appears on areas of not so high contrast but the effect is much lower although again this will lead to an apparent increase in sharpness between these areas.

So, how does this work?