Words of the photography world

Name
Christopher
Edit My Images
Yes
As I'm a beginner can I check that I understand some of the meanings of words in the photography world?
Aperture: (f-stop number) The aperture is the size of the lens hole, the smaller the number the wider the lens hole is.
Shutter Speed: How long the shutter is open for. The higher the number the faster the shutter.
ISO: The lower the number the darker the image. (Don't know how it works, please explain)
Af modes: Af: Automatic Focus MF: Manual Focus
WB: I know what it does but don't know how to explain. (Also don't know how it works, please explain)
Photo metering: No idea, please explain again

That's the main stuff! If I've got something wrong please correct me, I'm a beginner!

ISO is basically sensitivity to light. In easier words for you to understand, it helps you get photo in the dark. The more the ISO, the brighter image you get. It works similar to the way the Aperture and shutter speed works. Hope it makes some sense to you.

Hi Chris

Get out there and take some photos! Especially if you can move the dial away from the program/auto mode to one of the priority modes (where you set shutter speed or aperture and the camera sets the other).

You can do all the reading and watching of youtube, but there is no substitute for the experience of actually taking photographs. BUT... you also need to be able to review the photos yourself and start to build an understanding of why that photo looked the way it did - over exposed, under exposed, camera or subject movement (too slow a shutter speed - either the wrong settings or too low an ISO used), the wrong part of the picture in focus (focusing problem), not enough of the picture in focus (too big an aperture = too low an f-number), bright white patches of sky etc. (need to reduce the exposure), big black patches with no detail (need to increase the exposure), grainy picture (high ISO used)...