Would someone please help with this image?

GHP

Name
Gary
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all,
Attached is an image of my daughter, taken 8 years ago, and I would like to ask for some help to improve it.
I am very new to Photoshop, and very quickly get bogged down when trying to make adjustments etc.to images. I am learning though.(y)
My problem is that this image has a very specific memory for us, and it is a very dear image to us.
Normally I would just continue to struggle through until I was happy, but ideally I need a good copy of this image today, to be printed.
I am having a really hard time trying to lighten the area under the peak of the baseball cap, and generally trying to make it "pop".
The original raw file (taken on Nikon D70) is on the Flickr link, and I would be very very grateful if one of you clever PS gurus could improve it for me.
I know this is a long shot, and a bit of an ask, but if anyone could help it would make our day.
If anyone wants to download the original and email me the finished file, I will give my email via PM.
Thanks so much.
Cheers,
Gary.

_DSC0138.jpg by scubacrazy, on Flickr

Hi Gary,

Pleased to help. I have re-worked the image with some degree of success. PM your e-mail address and I'll send it to you.

Thank you very much Bob, that's a good improvement.
I am very grateful.
Gary.

Thank you very much Bob, that's a good improvement.
I am very grateful.
Gary.

???????????????????????????

???????????????????????????

Sorry, Yellowbelly had a go and emailed it to me:
Here is the edit.
6799983550_5b394efdbe_oa.jpg

If anyone else wants a go, feel free!!

Just a very very quick shadow highlight in photoshop and a bit of pop..

girls.jpg

Heres my edit

6799983550_6b7cd0908e_b-1.jpg

Les

Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks to all for your kind help.
If anyone wants to have a go with the raw file, it can be found by going to the flickr link, view all sizes, and the original there is the raw file.