Would you repair before sale or sell it "as seen"?

Name
Jeremy Moore
Edit My Images
No
I've been using a 5d3 for about four years now and although it still produces excellent images it has picked up a couple of minor faults.

1. Rust around the hot shoe

2. A crack in the top lcd panel. (sellotaped up)

Neither affects performance at all (although the flash could) Would you sell it with those faults or get it repaired first?

Depends on the cost you would get for it sold in its current state or whether the cost of repair would increase the value enough to offset the cost of fixing it. I

I might suggest just to continue to use it until it dies or use it for jobs that are higher risk ( stormy seascapes etc). I have an old D800 that's faulty, its fine but it lags a bit and jams/freezes occassionally after having a bath in Loch Achray. I could fix it at mega cost (£700 and get £800-£900 for it so a net gain of £100 to £200) I but I use it as a 3rd camera for more nasty stuff that I wouldn't want to risk a newish body on.

Last edited:
Depends if you can sell it for more if its fixed than the sale price as is plus the cost of repair.
A phone call to Canon , MPB and a bit of ebay research should give you the answer

Depends on the cost of repair.
Having faults gives a buyer the opportunity to demand a low price, no faults enables market value.

Depends on the cost of repair.
Having faults gives a buyer the opportunity to demand a low price, no faults enables market value.

Depends on the cost of the repair - depending on labour/parts it can rack up really quickly - and the difference in price for the camera as is vs good condition.

I'd ask - how high is the shutter count - high count bodies are less desirable and harder to sell and do you have a use for a 2nd/3rd body.