Yongnuos off-camera

Name
Simon
Edit My Images
No
I'm pretty much a complete novice to external flashes (bar my macro flash) and am looking into getting a couple of Yongnuo YN-560 II's to use off camera (Canon 6D).
Here's my problem - the 6D doesn't have in-built wireless flash control and I'm looking into using both flashes away from the camera. Can anyone recommend a method of firing them?
I've looked at wireless transceivers but, to be completely honest, am a bit lost with what exactly to look for in them. Would it be possible to use an off-camera cord attached to one, which could be used as a master to control the other as a slave?
Thanks in advance.

Simon

The 6D doesn't have it? That's odd...

Ah, no pop-up flash. I didn't know that.

In simple terms - -Yongnuo RF603's

heres an ebay link to a bundle of 3 (1 for camera and 2 for your flashes)...
Or just get two 603's... one for your camera and one for remote control - and then get the new Yongnuo 560-III (build-in receiver) instead of the II-version...

Best of luck! (y)

They are slightly more expensive (only slightly) but go for the 622's rather than the 603's. The 622s give in camera control of the flashes including TTL control which the 603s don't do.

I'd also recommend looking at the YN-568 flash with is the Yongnuo equivalent of the 580EXII. I have a YN-568 and 580EXII and I happily use either of them and get the same results.

I bought a set of LF106 triggers from Amazon (link) for £14.48, which work fine with my XP1 and two YN560IIs.

They are slightly more expensive (only slightly) but go for the 622's rather than the 603's. The 622s give in camera control of the flashes including TTL control which the 603s don't do.

I'd also recommend looking at the YN-568 flash with is the Yongnuo equivalent of the 580EXII. I have a YN-568 and 580EXII and I happily use either of them and get the same results.

That set up may be a budget killer though.

OP - what is your budget?