Your Opinion is Appreciated!!

Name
Jess
Edit My Images
Yes
So I am a beginner in thr wonderful art of photography, I only shoot film and have a Nikon N65 & a Holga 120 TLR.

I think I am ready for a new camera, but want to steer away from big maybe brand names because I want to expand my knowledge and skills on cameras mostly unheard of to the general population (non-photographers).

While searching web I stumbled across a brand called Rollei. I understand they were based in Germany and can go back to the 1920's. I was interested in the Rollei 35mm.
shopping
They run about $175 USD.

I know very little, if anything, about this brand or model.

Im wondering what makes them different from.other 35mm- what makes them special?- Or if they even are.

Is it a suitable camera for someone who is learing the ropes?(quite fast I must say (; )

I just want to gather as much info, opinions, and in site ob this beaut!!

& if you have a suggestion of a different camera, relatively inexpensive (im on a college student budget) that would be great for a new emerging photographer who is anxious to dive into the world of film photography!!!!

*I like to shoot mainly landscape/animals but I do also shoot people in case this factors in the suitability of.the camera

If you like that camera have a look at THIS LINK or THIS ONE
For a cheap (ish) camera, have a look at the Olympus Trip 35 for a first one, lots of people have one (or more) of those and it is truly a great little camera.
If you want more control over the settings, then there are several other Olympus RangeFinders that will fit the bill, 35RC, 35EC 35ECR, 35ECD plus others.
I have all of those myself and love the retro style and they are built like tanks.

Last edited:
Jess a big welcome to the group you will find many film photographers in this group, it is a great place with lots of people who all love shooting film in a great range of cameras.