Zoom for wildlife

Name
Richard
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi,

I have a Canon EOS550d with 18-55mm Kit lens and EF-S 55-250mm lens. I really want to shoot wildlife and need the reach. I don't want to spend a fortune so I think the 100-400L is probably out of my price range.

I've seen the Sigma 50-500mm second-hand at £550 or the 150-500mm at £650. These Sigmas appear to be good lenses but are they good at these prices or could I get a 100-400L second-hand for not much more (and where?). ANy other options I should consider.

I am relatively new to photography so a little explanation really helps as you guys know a lot more than me. Thanks if you can help.

Richard

well from what i have seen of the 100-400mm its a great lens but the image quality i found to be no better than the sigma 150-500mm, and my 50-500mm os knocks the pants of my mates 100-400mm.
one thing to think of is os,is in the lens, the 100-400mm is from what i have seen and used not very good, the simas are awsome and by far the best i have used, better than my nikon vr,
another thing is will you use the 50mm if not buy the 150-500mm(i use the 50mm for my kids)
the 150-500mm os is great at 500mm but to get the best shapness i found needs stopping down to f8, the 50-500mm is as sharp at 500mm wide open f6.3 and is even sharper stopped down to f8.
af speed is about the same or all 3 imo.
if you want any sample pics please say.

The 50-500 is supposed to be better than the 150-500 (Sigma's)

But I think the 100-400L would be better than both.

And with the Sigmas you dont get OS/IS for that price...which I think on a lens with that much zoom is a must..
the 150-500mm has os.
the 50-500mm does not unless its the new os version but that £1300

The 150-500mm has os.
I'm sure the second hand 50-500mm does not have os. I originally thought it did. I'm assuming this makes a big difference? I wondered why the price was lower.