Zooms!......why?

Edit My Images
Yes
Help me understand here please people as I'm new to DSLR's and having researched to death what I need and should use etc etc heres an overall conclusion that I've arrived at while researching "What new lens to get"....

Apart from the obvious large zooms ( 200+) to enable closer or covert picture captures and taking 'L' lenses out the scenario I just dont see the overall value of zooms like 17-40, 17-55, 15-85 etc etc as its only a few steps to 'zoom' in physically -..theres still an advantage I'll give you that- ....... however.....we all want sharp pictures YES? well when I read up on every lens I was interested in it said to get tack sharp you need to stop down a bit, plus I read the fairly unanimus views across many forums which says "most lenses perform best when stopped down"....which to my mind means I'll never be able to use the 'complete' lens at its best ie sharp pictures throughout the range and I should settle for second best and just shoot in the middle so to speak.......

So whats the point of zooms when a Prime will give more consistent images?

Have I got this all wrong? Have I missed something obvious? Be gentle as I am very new to this and still wanting to learn

think you would be better posting this in the correct forum rather than classifieds section???

A zoom is a lens used for flexibilty though it is a compromises in quality (in some instances)

A prime lens is going to give better quality though is comprimised by it's lack of flexibility

Hope that makes sense

Most people have short range zoom in their kit for a walkabout so you don't always have to lug equipment round and just use the single lens. A wideangle to short telephoto for instance 28-105 being a good example of a general use.

Quite simply framing. For example, I recently shot Salford Quays in Manchester and that's exactly the kind of location a zoom is invaluable because you can't just move your feet, you'd be in the canal!