Talk Projects and Themes

sirch

Lu-Tze
Admin
Name
The other Chris
Edit My Images
Yes
Since there is no Projects and Themes discussion, I thought I'd start one and hope this is the best place.

I have been considering putting together a project* and I was after some pointers about style and organisation. By style I mean essentially the look of the overall project, should it look consistent in terms of processing, framing etc. or is it OK to do what suits each individual image? By organisation I mean how the images are assembled into the final project, should there be a sense of direction though the project or does it not matter?

Any other pointers about the pitfalls and mechanics of undertaking a photographic project would be appreciated

*I have to get over an aversion to what feels to me like massive pretentiousness in even thinking about doing such a thing

I'm no expert so feel free to ignore me!

The 'style' is likely to be determined by the subject matter. If the project is all about photographs of one particular kind of thing (a typology) then consistency of framing, orientation aspect ratio, lighting etc is best kept consistent.

For a more documentary theme then there's less need to keep the formal, compositional arrangements similar.

It rarely pays to mix colour and black and white within a project unless there is a good reason - maybe to differentiate two aspects, or for technical reasons such as low light or white balance difficulties in one area. Similarly keep processing consistent, that will provide a unifying look.