1st attempt at HDR

HCK

Edit My Images
Yes
Hi,

This is my first attempt at HDR, I have by no means mastered the art....I personally think it looks a bit over processed, but I guess I will learn that over time :eek:. Any flaming or critiquing welcome (well to a certain extent ;) )

HDR
http://www.pclc.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/dell/1st-hdr.jpg

Original
http://www.pclc.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/dell/original.JPG

Thanks.

Staff Edit : Images changed to clickable links. Pictures must not exceed current forum limits as per the rules.
Please feel free to replace this with a fresh/resized image and remove this text :)

I used 1 Raw file in lightroom and created a +2 and -2 copy of the original, then exported all 3 (including the original) into Photomatix, then tonemapped it and played about with the settings until I got the finished result. Boy there is so much to learn :eek:

I like the stone building and the grass colour. But as said above I think the sky (especially the very light blue area) is too overdone for my liking. First attempt though, so nothing to be ashamed of at all! :)

I prefer the original but with added PP. Haha!
its a good first attempt to be honest, and the ruins look good. The sky is a real let down.

Again, nicely taken shot though :)

I'd like to see the HDR version converted into a B&W as the colour of the grass and sky takes you away from the main point of interest (the old building) too much

I kinda like the HDR version, but the sky is a bit overcooked as others have said. There's a bit of a halo round the building too.
Not bad though for a first go. I quite like the HDR effect, although some folks hate it.

I prefer the original to be honest, which has good definition anyway. Suggest you take the +2, 0 and -2 exposures on the camera as it gives much better results. I've been doing HDR a month or so now and ma hooked!

:plus1:

I think the original had good detail; no need for HDR in this case.

Out of curiosity, why are you calling it HDR?