Beginner A Bridge too Far......maybe

Edit My Images
Yes
Hi

first time on photography forum, and this seemed to fit the bill.

i have a query relating to new kit in comparison with old.
i use a bridge camera, FZ200, and use it for the obvious holiday snaps, wild life, aircraft and motor racing, Oi am at a stage where I want a newer camera, and thinking maybe DSLR is the way to go. The main issue I have is trying to work out how big a lens I will need to compete with the zoom on the fz200. I am not a pro, and nor will I intend to be. It is purely hobby only, and I don’t really want to be carrying around 2ft lenses to get the same reach that I have. I have been to a local camera shop, and left without the answer at all. I know it may well not be as straight forward as I hope, but want An idea of a physical size, and cost of a comparable reaching lens.

i hope this makes sense and that someone can give me some guidance.

i would like to dabble with DSLR but it could be that I stay with a bridge came and make do.

thanks in advance

Like you I’m not a pro, and probably not even a good hobbyist! I wouldn’t be in a hurry to dump the Panny though. I have the FZ330 and often use it instead of my Canon 77D. And range of lenses. The “one“ unit versatility and long zoom certainly work well when used carefully. Have you considered a newer model in the FZ range?

The age old question I guess is why do you want a newer camera? What is your current camera not giving you? Go from there.

If you go for a "full frame" DSLR then you'll need a 600mm lens to match your FZ200. If you go for a typical "crop" bodied DSLR then a 400mm will suffice.

Give an Olympus M4/3 camera a go.

Whilst the sensor is smaller the lenses are too.

And if you use a 300mm lens on an Olympus you get the equivalent of 600mm in full frame.

For motorsports an EM1 MK2 would fit the bill whilst not busting the bank.

Oh, and welcome to TP! :)

Hi