A Canon DSLR for photography course

Name
Stu
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi, I’m new to photography having my fujifilm x100t has given me a real passion for it and I am looking at doing a diploma course with the BAPH (I know it doesn’t count for much but would be pretty much my first qualification in anything so I want to do it) I was looking at the equipment list needed for the course and I’m not sure the x100t will quite cover it. I have been looking at getting a second hand canon DSLR. As I’m new you can imagine that the range of second hand cameras out there is a minefield for a newbie. I would like something that will see me not only through the course but also past that as I develop. I also dont have a huge amount of money so don’t want to buy something now that I will then be looking to replace in a year or so’s time. I was recommended going for a full frame camera and there is a Canon 6D body for £400 at CeX (I’m aware the shutter count could be a gamble but I’m trading things in to be able to afford it) and would then just start with a second hand kit lens and hopefully in the future any investment could be spent on better lenses.

Do people think this sounds like a good idea? does anyone have and advice for me or even recommend alternative canon cameras I could look at in the used market? I would like to stick to Canon if possible as I know a few people with canons that might be able to loan me lenses if I need them for a project etc.

sorry for the long post but as a beginner any advice would be very welcome.

Thanks

I you are used to Fuji, why not stick with them?

X-T10's and 20's are more than reasonable with regard to second hand pricing.

And I'd avoid somewhere like CeX like the plague. The chance of the goods having been 'appropriated' are through the roof.

Use someone reputable like MPB.

And I'd avoid somewhere like CeX like the plague. The chance of the goods having been 'appropriated' are through the roof.

Use someone reputable like MPB.