A couple of wet ones.. first use of RAW!

Name
Douglas
Edit My Images
Yes
I have always been slightly suspicious of RAW, specifically because as an ex film photographer, I liked to do everything with the camera, but I thought I'd give it a go, so I bought Lightroom.

These are both large crops at quite a high ISO because of poor light. DOF is quite narrow, but that's the best I could do given the light. I think I'm going to like RAW after all.

Greenie.jpg

Goldie-1.jpg

I've not tried raw either, only just got lightroom, got the DSLR, set it to save raw, so i now have all the gear, but still no idea:D

Looking at these is helping me make the decision to switch, thanks.

Quite frankly i'm shocked at all three of you.

Nope, still dont like the new style of writing TPF is adopting so i'll revert......

I've always considered RAW photogrpahy to be closer in nature to film photography DD - you have a more flexible medium than a jpeg. Its true you have to apply a little more time to it as the results straight from camera are, well, more raw, but i like that. You'll gain so much more from the switch.

Come on Glo and Chillimonster - get to it (y)

:agree: with the Reb ... :eek: ... I have used RAW since going digi and really don't understand what all the fuss is about ... come on guys ... :cautious: ... you will not know what you are missing until you give it a go ... :naughty:

Oh ... and your usual level of pics there Doug ... (y) ... nice ... :D

:p

Nice as always Doug (y)
Raw, isn't that how you buy meat from supermarkets? (oh gawd another pleb :D )
More seriously do you need lightroom or an other or does CS3 do it? ( I have CS3 but as yet not installed it, waiting for a quite few hours for that pleasure)

CS3 has Adobe Camera RAW built in. Just double click your RAW file and it will automatically open in the Camera RAW program, you make your adjustments then click "open". It will then open the image in Photoshop for any further editing you fancy