A quick review of the Gitzo Gimbal Fluid Head (with pictures).

sk66

Advertiser
Name
Steven
Edit My Images
Yes
I received my new GHFG1 yesterday from Adorama (that was quick!) and I spent some time going over it.
But first a little background. I started shooting with big lenses way back before gimbal heads were introduced to photography, or at least they were not common. And I used to use a large/heavy video fluid head then. Since then I've owned/used various gimbal heads (Wimberley, Benro, ProMediaGear, etc) over the years. And for the last several years I have abandoned them altogether and have been using a leveling pan/tilt head instead. I've often wanted to go back to a fluid head but there wasn't an option I could justify... video heads up to the task are big/heavy/expensive. RRS makes a fluid gimbal that I highly suspect is better, but it costs 3x as much as this head.
The reason I wanted a fluid head is because a little bit of resistance goes a long way towards eliminating wobbles and camera shake ensuring smoother movements/tracking and sharper images. Part of the reason I quit using gimbal heads as none of them had very good drag systems. And then this thing shows up on the market and at a very reasonable price! My main concerns were that there weren't any good reviews and everything I saw had smaller kit mounted. It's only rated to 17.64 lbs and the camera/lens combination I primarily use weighs right at 15lbs. My general rule of thumb for tripods/heads is that they should be rated for at least 2x what you're going to put on it if you want any real stability/reliability. Having taken this thing completely apart, I am quite confident the noted limit is for optimum performance and not structural.

Here's a stock image as I didn't take any "overview" pictures.

1.jpg