Beginner Advice for new member

Name
MR M J FALLON
Edit My Images
No
Good evening, all.
Just a newbie here looking for some advice, I'm looking to upgrade my camera/lenses. Currently i have a canon EOS 1100D which I purchased some 10+ years ago as a kit (75-300mm zoom lens plus a smaller standard lens).
My interests are nature photography and gundogs. I have taken pictures at gundog working tests and Field trials that I host. I am finding I get some fairly good shots and like most some not so good or blurred. I'm assuming due to not being able to focus fast enough on a moving object (mainly using the cameras auto settings). If I'm feeling adventurous, I sometimes switch to the "sport mode" with varying results.
I was really hoping for some advice on purchasing a suitable "used" lens & camera body. I have spoken to a friend who has suggested a good all-round lens would be a Canon F2.8 70-200mm lens and maybe a canon 5Dmk4? What are people's thoughts on this? Do you have any other suggestions that may help.
Thank you in advance.
Mark

Evening and welcome.

Probably first question is what is your budget, followed by whether you're committed to Canon or not?

Camera tech is rapidly moving, and focussing systems are getting faster and more accurate, sensors produce less noise than they used to while holding shadow detail better. There's nothing wrong with a DSLR camera, but the world has gone mirrorless and the older systems are no longer being developed. This can be good, because older kit is cheaper to buy, but investing in older kit will make the change more expensive IF you decide to do it later.

Good evening, all.
Just a newbie here looking for some advice, I'm looking to upgrade my camera/lenses. Currently i have a canon EOS 1100D which I purchased some 10+ years ago as a kit (75-300mm zoom lens plus a smaller standard lens).