Beginner Advice on lighting options for indoor profile images

Edit My Images
Yes
Hi,

I've been asked by a friend to take some images for him and his colleagues at work. I plan to use light grey back drop and on camera flash with bounce at roughly 45 degrees with bounce card, also using some available window light if possible. Ceilings are quite low and whitish in colour.

Could i benefit from introducing a studio light in a softbox that i have available also ? lens wise i'll be using a 50mm or 85mm on a D7100.

I'm a real novice when it comes to lighting so any advice much appreciated, especially on what options are likely to work best and how to best position them. Images will be head and shoulder only.

Was thinking of starting with the backdrop opposite the window light and seeing how little bounced flash i could get away with that yields a good exposure or is natural light from the side preferable with a little fill in flash.

Many thanks in advance,
Mike.

Hi,

I've been asked by a friend to take some images for him and his colleagues at work. I plan to use light grey back drop and on camera flash with bounce at roughly 45 degrees with bounce card, also using some available window light if possible. Ceilings are quite low and whitish in colour.

Could i benefit from introducing a studio light in a softbox that i have available also ? lens wise i'll be using a 50mm or 85mm on a D7100.

I'm a real novice when it comes to lighting so any advice much appreciated, especially on what options are likely to work best and how to best position them. Images will be head and shoulder only.

Was thinking of starting with the backdrop opposite the window light and seeing how little bounced flash i could get away with that yields a good exposure or is natural light from the side preferable with a little fill in flash.

Many thanks in advance,
Mike.

You will benefit IMMENSELY from introducing studio light in a softbox.