Advice on small home studio set up.

Name
Esther
Edit My Images
Yes
I've seen the similar thread running on here and read the replies but didn't want to hijack his thread.

I'm in a similar position in wanting to buy equipment for taking photos of my own kids at home plus a few friends that have asked, my problem is that I'm not technically minded and despite hours of reading I feel more bogged down and confused than before I started, I definitely learn much faster being able to physically try things out so want to buy a basic starter kit to play around with and learn from my mistakes then add to it as I go along.

I understand the basic principles of lighting but it's the brand names and spec that's switching my brain off and I'm worried about making an expensive mistake.

I'm not keen on white backgrounds so plan to invest in more natural colours and perhaps add props to theme it, I've got two daughters aged 2 and 4 who really want to do fairy photos!

At the last two photo days at nursery I noticed the photographers had one big light in a soft box and an umbrella, the one lady also had her camera plugged into her laptop so the images showed up straight away but that's not something I need to do straight away.

I already have a double sided silver/gold reflector that I've been using outdoors.

I've seen this on eBay but again have no idea whether it's suitable?
https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre=https://www.ebay.co.uk/ulk/itm/263120065697

Thanks.

If you're not going to shoot against a white background, a kit with one softbox and 1 umbrella is pretty well ideal, and very simple to use.