Ants say hello...

Name
Huw
Edit My Images
No
Taken on Holiday in Provence this summer.
C&C welcomed :)

antscommunicate800.jpg

I'm also new I could do with some instructions in using my macro

Hi Clive, I'm far from an expert but will send you a PM later today (hopefully) :)

Hi Robbo, thanks for the comments, they were generally up to a couple of centimetres long. Very fast movers too so capturing them was quite a challenge, hand held was the only way... :)

Thanks for the comment Mike, much appreciated :)

Really like the shadows, adds a lot to the shot.
I like it (y)

Hi Clive, I'm far from an expert but will send you a PM later today (hopefully) :)

Hi Robbo, thanks for the comments, they were generally up to a couple of centimetres long. Very fast movers too so capturing them was quite a challenge, hand held was the only way... :)

Thanks for the comment Mike, much appreciated :)

oh quite big ones, last time i seen an ant it was about 1/2 cm! lol

Stunning picture! Perfect DOF and lighting, and bril shadows. I really like this picture, nicely done! (y)

Nice picture! Looks like it could be a battle, not just saying hello. Is the one on the left missing a front limb? I frequently find that hand-held is the only way to go.

Nice picture! Looks like it could be a battle, not just saying hello. Is the one on the left missing a front limb? I frequently find that hand-held is the only way to go.

Thanks for taking the time to comment Dan :)

While attempting to get a good shot of these little fellas I did watch their behaviour and it was actually more of a communication thing than combat, they would occasionally meet and seem to pass a message on as one travelled in one direct and the other went the other way.
With regards to the leg I can't rightly remember if he was down to five but I guess it's either that or it's hidden behind his body (not really possible to tell from the shadow).