Any wedding videographers on here?

Name
Iain
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all,

I have been giving serious consideration to wedding videography in the future. I'm currently a wedding photographer and have worked with many videographers and when, out of curiosity, I look at their work the vast majority seem dated. Old titles, slow zooms in and out to the alter, panning shots, fade outs etc. I much prefer the american, cinematic look to wedding videography and feel it's something I may be able to achieve.

I was wondering if there is anyone has moved from photography to videography or offers both?

Iain

I've considered some hybrid stuff, but shooting video well gets really expensive really quickly.

I shot an interview a few months ago. 2 hrs prep, 2 hrs shooting and about 2 days in post for a 3 minute video. I know it'd get quicker with practice, but jeeez!!

a friend of mine's brother shot a video for his wedding with canon kit
used a C300 with some l-glass primes. amazing kit for the size, so your lenses could double up. haven't seen the final results and it was all pretty low light. hope to see it one day as I'm really interested in what he did.

To be honest I'm amazed at the quality of the video from my 5d3 - I had a play with Canon's SLR type camcorder (think it was the C300/600) and it was nice but I don't really know the difference between the two other than the camcorder model had an awesome feature where by you could see what was in focus as it had trailing ants around the image - anyone know the difference and whether it would be worth the fdifference in the future?

It would be my wife doing the videography while I did the photography, she has a knack for it. Thinking of offering a few couples the opportunity to have it done for free at weddings I'm already photographing with the understanding that we're trialling something new win/win.