Apple iMac?

Name
Mark
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi,

I'm considering replacing my PC with a new 24" iMac. Does anyone have any experience of these machines and could offer any advice as to their suitability for Photo editing?

Cheers,
Mark Morb

Well I work in IT, supporting Wintel environment, and have had PC's at home for years......but about 8 months ago, I got myself a Mac Pro with decent screen........takes a but of getting used to, but have really grown to love the Mac.....but to be honest it does the same..Photoshop is Photoshop...does not matter if it's running on an Intel PC or Intel Mac.....if you run a good monitor, calibrated.

I find the Mac is less annoying to use than a PC, it does not have loads of apps all trying to run their update software when you boot up, you will be subject to less spyware/adware and virus attacks (how long that lasts however is up for debate). But other than that there is not a lot to point out by way of differences.

Agree with Everything Daft Togger says. I have recently moved to a Mac from a PC and yes they do take some getting used to. The only thing that i have noticed and this may not be a big thing for you, is that alot of the free plug-ins that you find are the web are not always available for Macs.

Agree with Everything Daft Togger says. I have recently moved to a Mac from a PC and yes they do take some getting used to. The only thing that i have noticed and this may not be a big thing for you, is that alot of the free plug-ins that you find are the web are not always available for Macs.

Yes, but you can usually get equivalents.

and you can now run XP on a mac via boot camp, vm ware or parallels

Thanks for the replies :)

What's Parallels? I have heard of Boot Camp and thought that might be useful as a couple of the Sony Apps I use are not available for the PC. Is Parallels included with Leopard?

Cheers,