Barcelona - advice please

Edit My Images
Yes
Morning all,

I would like some advice from people that have been to Barcelona please, as I'm going first thing tomorrow and have not really had the chance to prepare much.

I am there on my own for approx 12 hours (since the rest of the group does not arrive until nearly midnight) so I've taken it upon me to do a photography challenge - mainly looking at architecture and religion. Some questions though:

- I'll be taking my Panasonic GF1 with the 20mm pancake lens and a gorillapod (as part of the challenge) - can anyone recommend other subjects / locations that would suit my kit?

- I am also a relatively novice photographer - probably your typical got-the-kit-but-not-the-know-how-therefore-gets-frustrated type. Any advice on how I should approach my photography in this new location?

- Any places to avoid? I'm thinking about those that would make me and my camera vulnerable to unscrupulous folk.

- Does anyone have any suggestions of areas to photograph after 'the magic hour'? I could just plonk myself on a bar stool but I'll probably end up getting hammered before my mates get there.

I know it's very short notice but have been rushed off my feet lately so any help is much appreciated.

Thanks.

:)

(MODs - i am unsure if this is the right forum for this so please move accordingly)

Do this:

La Sagrada Familia by Ricardodaforce, on Flickr

Gotta say, Barcelona is my least favourite city in Spain, and it deserves its reputation as the pick-pocket capital of Europe. Be VERY careful on the metro, ignore anyone that drops anything in front of you etc. Beer is way too expensive in Las Ramblas.
Remember, they would rather speak Catalan than Castellano, so please is "si us plau" and thanks you is "gràcies".

For architecture and religion there is a lot to see. The Sagrada Familia as Ricardodaforce posted above. The challenge there is to get one of the outside of it without any cranes. ;)