Beginner Basic cleaning

Edit My Images
No
Happy New Year folks

I've recently found time to get back into casual photography and I'm looking for some advice please.

I'll apologise if this has been covered before but when I had a look previously I couldn’t see anything although it's bound to have been asked before.

Apologies again for the lack of technical terms - I’m still learning! The camera in question is a Nikon D3300.

I went to take a photo the other day and I noticed a massive black spec on the viewfinder. After cleaning the viewfinder the mark was still there. On carrying out a bit of homework I bought an air blower to clean the mirror/prism mirror which got rid of the spot. The large particle was no longer present but unfortunately I now have several smaller blemishes/hairs showing on the viewfinder. The photos taken continue to be fine.

Given my inexperience as these marks are only visible on the viewfinder, not the photos, I do not think there is any issue with the camera sensor which is a major relief. I’m about 90% certain that the blemishes are on a mirror/mirrors.

The million pound question is what cleaning is next? There are loads of videos out there stating you can use a lens brush or cotton bud on the mirrors. Contrary to this there are loads of videos stating that under no circumstances should you clean the mirrors whatsoever given their fragile nature.

Happy enough to purchase a lens cleaning brush to try myself but obviously don’t want to ruin the mirrors.

Appreciate a lot of people will say simply "Ignore this" but as I’m sure everyone on here will relate to it’s really annoying. Sending the camera away really isn’t really economically viable given the quotes I’ve received both for posting the camera and for the work.

So to dust with a lens brush or not?

What is the consensus?

Thank you to everyone for taking the time to read and/or reply.