Batch film scanning / iPhone app?

Name
Sgt Garcia
Edit My Images
No
Hi there,

I'm a photo editor employed to work on the archive of an American rock photographer from the 60s and 70s.
My first task is to deal with over 20,000 35mm negatives.
The plan is to scan them all, purely for reference purposes i.e. so we can just see them all. Thus the quality isn't important.

My inclination is just to use an iPhone film-scanning app to do this.
It seems like it'd be fast (time-efficiency is a priority) and and also very easy.

I just wanted to get a few 2nd opinions?
Have any of you used such apps before?
Would you recommend an alternative means of scanning all the negatives?

Thanks so much!

SG

What's your budget?

If it's $0 and you have an iPhone, I'd say go for it!

An Epson V550 will do great contact sheet prints from 35mm, 12 at a time. I think the bigger scanners (V750/800) do more, and things like a Pakon will do a roll at a time but lol prices. The thing about scanners is that once you get it set up it's very quick. But if the photographer had many different types of film (slide, B&W, colour) it might be trickier.

Are the negs cut from film length into strips of 6? Are there any mounted slides?

20,000 negs...

Thanks so much for this.

There is actually budget. I'm just trying to figure out which option would be fastest.
I'd definitely consider using a scanner.

Are Pakons available to buy anywhere?

My understanding is that they're all 35mm b&w negatives. The questions you ask are good ones actually. I need to find out. The archive is still in the US so I don't actually know some of these specifics yet.

I didn't realise the Epson V550 was capable of doing that many in one go (failing finding a Pakon). Would the Epson suit the 35mm b&w format?

Thanks again!!

Are Pakons available to buy anywhere?

I didn't realise the Epson V550 was capable of doing that many in one go (failing finding a Pakon). Would the Epson suit the 35mm b&w format?