Best photoshop book for a intermediate

Name
Neil
Edit My Images
No
I'm not a novice at Photoshop and I'm not an expert either....wanting to learn more, any recommendations on a decent book to help me improve my skills?

Cheers
Neil

Back in the day, the Real World series PS books by Blatner / Fraser were dense with material that was all both solid, grounded and intelligible - they were a hell of a team! There were editions into the CS era but I don't know up to what version. But in many aspects apart from the latest bells and whistles PS is much the same, so a book for an older version is still pretty valid.

I think that it's personal to a large extent which authors' modes of explanation you chime with. There's only one way to find out which ...

Last edited:
Processing a photo is broken down into 2 main channels for me.

Artistic vision, meaning a clear direction in where you want to take it and how you want to express yourself in the way the photo ends up. This is started in camera through composition, focus and exposure settings. But well processed you can accentuate the story you were trying to tell with your camera settings.

The second key element in processing a photo is in having the right skill set and knowledge of the software to realise the direction you want to take the photo in. A tool kit of abilities really. A bit like to take a good photo in the first place you also need the technical understanding of how to adjust settings, achieve critical focus and sharpness (or not).

The best photographers can clearly see photos within a scene that engage the viewer, and have the technical skills to capture the shot in a way that conveys what they want, to a high standard of photography.

Post processing is the same, the very best not only have the skills to manipulate and extract the best from the shot, they also know what direction to go in to get the best out of it.