Best relective surface? Leaf skeletons

Name
Emma
Edit My Images
Yes
I bought a granite chopping board last week hoping to use it for photography - the reflection it gives is exactly as I wanted, but unfortunately there are some grey flecks in it that were a complete pain to get rid of in pp! Then I tried a sheet of plain glass over black velvet, but ended up with double reflections. I can't seem to get a definitive answer from the all-knowing Google - so wondered if anyone here had any tips? I darkened the backgrounds further just using shadows and exposure adjustments in LR - it was easy but took a while - is there a search I could do that would give me an easier way in Photoshop maybe? I have a copy but am a complete novice!

Granite chopping board
fading beauty by Em Jay, on Flickr

Glass over velvet
fading beauty revisited by Em Jay, on Flickr

Emma,
I use two different surfaces for that purpose. Some very costly "high gloss"
stainless steel plates and the cheaper, more flexible and colourful world of
vinyl rolls.

Can you not get a sheet of coloured perspex?

This is also an option though more expensive than vinyl,
heavier and less flexible as vinyl may be used like a paper roll.

I'm assuming that it is removing the flecks that is time-consuming. How are you doing it? I just put a number of nasties into the background of your first image and removed them pretty quickly with the Spot Removal brush in Lightroom. Or you could use the Healing Brush in Photoshop.