Bike Lighting Try_Updated Advice Please_Again

Name
Gary
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all.

Some time ago my Daughter asked would I mind picking this bike up from her Uni accommodation. Obviously being a Dad it's the type of thing we love to do ;-)
This bike has been lurking around our shed for yonks plus said Daughter is skint and so suggested we try and sell it on you know where.
I took a few snaps on my phone as is the norm these would be fine I'm sure.

That said it occurred to me I could have a go at lighting it. I was time rich earlier today. This is the outcome of my efforts. I'm no expert by any means but enjoyed the challenge.

Off the reading I have done in the past it seems lighting from the top is a starting point so that's what I did. Then add the softbox to the left hand side and eventually the bounced speedlight to the right.
I was unsure how much I should be lighting really. That said whilst typing this out it feels obvious that everything needs to be lite ?

It would be great to get some feedback as to how I should have gone about it and how I could have improved the results.

Softbox at back as AD200
Softbox left 580ex
Bounced right side 580ex

bike-web.jpg

bike-web-2.jpg

Last edited:
It's a nice first attempt IMO.

There's a few things I think could use adjusting. The light on the left is feathered a bit too much which is causing a heavier vignette on the left side and dropping the left wheel a bit too dark. Secondly, the lights from the left and right are causing incongruent cross-lighting highlights and shadows (i.e. catchlights on rims).

TBH, your lights are a bit small for this subject. What I *think* I would do is combine the two softboxes overhead for a larger single effect; flatten them out a bit (angle) and move them closer (reduce power). You probably also need to angle them a bit to follow the overall angle/height of the bike (i.e. match the slope of the cross bar).