Branch: First draft

I'm not sure myself yet.... just playing with it at the moment.

Hmmmmm...... (strokes beard)...

Mark up your prints then :) I spend quite a long time creating test strips and various grades for various parts of the image, so I know exactly how much to dodge and burn by, and at what contrast filter. Usually, I get the finished print on the second try.. sometimes third if it needs you to be particularly dexterous.

I suppose that even by the time I went to college I had been printing regularly for some twelve years and hardly had to think much about the process at all, it was all pretty automatic. When I said some time, I did not mean a long time. If it was necessary to make test strips. I would never have expected to make more than two full size prints. Thinking back I never saw anyone marking up a print in my entire working life, memory and the projected image were all that was needed. But each to their own. I never owned a print timer till I started colour printing, my natural count was rather less than a second but very consistant, which is all you need.
As I almost never needed to revisit exhibition prints, print notes were a complication I did not have time for. Had I needed to print other peoples work then such thing are probably very necessary.

I suppose that even by the time I went to college I had been printing regularly for some twelve years and hardly had to think much about the process at all, it was all pretty automatic. When I said some time, I did not mean a long time. If it was necessary to make test strips. I would never have expected to make more than two full size prints. Thinking back I never saw anyone marking up a print in my entire working life, memory and the projected image were all that was needed. But each to their own. I never owned a print timer till I started colour printing, my natural count was rather less than a second but very consistant, which is all you need.