Bright eyes help

Name
Walter
Edit My Images
Yes
Took this photo of my Granddaughter, love this photo, but when I went to print out at 10x8, it showed her left eye to be very dark, in fact it looks Black, can her eyes be fixed to lighten up or a bit whiter perhaps. thinking if I took it down to a shop printer (I.e. Jessops?) do they have programs to edit eyes , any ideas please. I have no programs to edit eyes, Have Capture NX-D but doesn't seem to fix eyes. Its a Jpeg file. Don't know what happen to this cause she has the most beautiful eyes.

Thanking in advance WalterAmelia (4).JPG

Don't know what happen to this…

That is a normal case of an eye too deep in the shadow
of the eye arcade, Walter.

I could try to find a solution on the original RAW file…

Not sure if that would be enough light in there. I am no expert so this may look a pants anyway. What I did was duplicate the layer and set it to a screen blend mode. Which showed there is some detail in there I then duplicated that layer Then added a bit of contrast back in with a curves layer. I suppose you could lighten the eye socket too but hey ho.
Like I say I'm no expert and didnt faff around like I usually would.

Gaz

Eyes.jpg

Last edited:
Not sure if that would be enough light in there.

Gary, Me and the Mrs are over the moon with you taking the time and fixing Amelia's eyes, cant thank you enough and mean it, I have printed out a test on to a cheap gloss photo paper I had left over, and it really looks well and bright. Run out of ink on my printer (all my mistakes lol), but will have it printed out over the next couple of days and post the result with frame.
Ps I just put the original photo in Paint and pasted and carefully lined up your fixed eyes, just a very slight colour different but am sure it will print perfect. once again many thanks from a Grateful Granny & Grandad.

Walter

Hi Walter