Beginner Cannon EOS 10D over exposure problem

Edit My Images
Yes
I'm new to cameras in general but have had some success with some old 35mm SLR's which in all fairness I would prefer to use but as processing is so expensive I have brought myself a cheap second hand Canon EOS 10D DSLR body ,I have brought a M42 lens adapter and have tried using the camera but all the photos are way over exposed regardless of what lens I use. I have set the camera on auto and have looked at some of the settings of each photos, the camera seems to alter the ASA/ISO but as yet thats as far as I can work out. Altering the f setting gives a better photo but makes it hard to see through the view finder, I was under the impression the camera would sense the light and alter exposure times to suit.
Any advise much appreciated.
IMG_1272.JPG

Just tried the same thing on my old 300D which is of similar vintage and got similar results.
Switching to aperture priority gave better results, but had to stop the lens down a couple of stops to prevent the shutter speed maxing out.
As there is no aperture info being passed from the lens to the camera, I'm guessing Auto cant calculate the correct exposure.

Hello again all,

Thanks for the replies. I seem to have sorted the problem although I think I may need to make more adjustments as the colours are a little pale, I got to thinking that if I took a photo of anything white it just bleached the screen out completely so was it a white balance issue ? I then found out you cannot adjust white balance in auto so tried it in a manual setting this gave me pre-sets for day/night plus others I set it in day light and it was much improved (white balance is not really something I have come across so far with using film cameras but I had read about it in connection with camera phones. I think as you said Steve B it's a result of not using the correct lens ! Here's a photo anyway of nearly the same subject which is about 100m away
IMG_1290.JPG

Last edited: