Canon 7Dmk2 + Auto ISO

Name
Nick
Edit My Images
Yes
Hey guys and girl, so I’ve upgraded to a 7Dmkii and what a camera compared to the original 7D, so because I’m a wildlife photographer and well... live in the uk.. the lighting is constantly changing, and when I’m practicing in full manual mode.. I find me self getting worse and worse shots and completely wasting my time.. it kinda takes all the fun away from it, so auto iso is brilliant with how snappy it is and it does expose better than the original 7D.

Now, I’m just wondering if anyone else uses this, because although I get great shots with it, if there’s something white in the background it will tend to overexpose that little bit of white or if it’s white in the bird it will overexpose it. Now I know I wouldn’t get this with manual mode but if there’s a lot happening around me I just can’t change the settings fast enough to be catching it all.

has anyone experienced the overexposure and if so, have they counted it with moving the exposure meter down or what not?

Thanks for any advise or help
All the best
Nick

Yes it is a great camera. I don’t know if you have read the canon manual on AF where it goes through all cases. I found that a great help. As for my set up I tend to use AV mode and then all I have to do is keep an eye on my shutter speed. Depending on conditions I find that evaluative is quite good for none cluttered situations. I then dial in the mode that suits the situation.
As you have said it is a very customisable camera it just takes a little time to get it right. Good luck

Unless using flash there is little point using m mode. Auto iso on canons was (and maybe still is) badly incomplete and unusable due to lack of exposure compensation adjustment. Forget about it in variable or difficult light

the lighting is constantly changing, and when I’m practicing in full manual mode.