Beginner Canon M50 or Sony RX100 V?

Edit My Images
Yes
Hi there,

I’m torn between these two cameras.

I am a complete newbie and need a decent camera for the following:

Work - I do semipermanent make up so need decent up close shots of brows.

Kids - I want decent pics of my kids including studio style photoshoots.

Travel - I’m going back to Venice next year and need a camera that isn’t too big or bulky as I have tiny hands and don’t want to lug a big camera round.

Will the Sony give me decent, large prints?

I really want to learn photography though so would rather spend more on a decent camera now to save upgrading in the near future.

you can get decent large prints with a smart phone too.

the main benefit of M50 is its an ILC so as your skill and passion grows you can expand your lens line up with it. downside is M50 is treated a bit like b*****d child of canon, you never know when they'll stop supporting it. the lens line and options aren't great either.

If you are interested in small cheaper ILC options then perhaps look at some older Fujis or Sonys.
about 6 months ago I'd have also suggested micro four thirds bodies from olympus and panasonic but these days not sure where that's going either in the long term.

alternatively RX100 VA (get the 'VA' not the 'V' helpful for shooting kids) can give you equally decent pictures but no options to change lenses etc. you could always sell it and move on if you feel you want something more in the future. Certainly very travel friendly. Personally not a big fan of these RX100 bodies and I find them fiddly at best but this forum has a lot of folks who swear by their RX100s :D

Last edited:
Thanks for your replies.

What are the smallest DSLR bodies available? That’s what drew me to the M50 in the first place, the size.

Thanks for your replies.

What are the smallest DSLR bodies available? That’s what drew me to the M50 in the first place, the size.