Beginner Cheap filters for a beginner?

Name
Nathan
Edit My Images
Yes
OK so I recently bought a Nikon D3300 with the 18-55mm lens and I purchased a Tamron 70-300mm lens as well for distance photography.

I am very new to photography and have been doing a lot of nature photography and landscapes (I live in the countryside so it was inevitable).

Anyway I know very little about camera equipment and was wondering what filters would be worthwhile purchasing. Also recommendations for any other equipment that could be useful would be grand. I've got batteries and memory cards, bag and tripod etc. but I have no clue when it comes to lenses/filters.

Are there any filters/lenses that anyone could recommend? Ideally I'd like them to be relatively cheap as right now I'm playing about more than anything and would only like to spend more when I'm doing it a little more seriously.

For landscapes graduated filters can be very useful. I have a 3 stop hard grad, plus the holder and adaptor ring, from here http://srb-photographic.co.uk/ which is good (and relatively cheap) but I'm thinking of getting a soft grad too for the times the horizon is not straight. A polarising filter is also very useful.

Dave

Normally I recommend Lee filters but they are expensive but will stand you in good stead as you progress. A set of Lee filters plus holder will cost as much as your currrent gear. Your 18/55 is a bit small (52mm thread) to use such large filters.

You may find a cokin set more suitable to start out with

My view is that buying Lightroom would be far more useful than filters as, except in extreme situations, shooting in raw and using software grads is just as good if not better. Or if it is very high contrast you can bracket the shots (not sure if the D3300 can do that automatically?). The only filters you can't replicate in software are polarisers and strong ND filters.