Colour processing - C41 - chemicals

sirch

Lu-Tze
Admin
Name
The other Chris
Edit My Images
Yes
I'm pretty clued up on the process and currently do B&W processing so I'm not a complete newbie but I've never done any colour processing. I was wondering if anyone has any recommendations for which chemicals and any other hints and tips? The Tetenal kit seems to be widely available and not too expensive, anyone got any experience of it? What's it shelf life and how do you store it?

I'm still working through my first Fuji Hunt Xpress kit (5L version) - relied on practical advice from users on Flickr - mixed up 5 x 1L bottles (PET so flexible) of developer - froze 4 - stored working dev in my film fridge with IL each of diluted bleach and fix - the undiluted lives in fridge too. I make up 1L of final rinse with distilled water and store in darkroom . Between sessions the dilute solutions go back to the fridge. A short microwave (2 mins at 900W per litre) brings them up to about 35C so does not take long to get stable in the Jobo.

I use the FH timings (the instructions are in finest japlish) for repeated use and get the equivalent of 15x36exp rolls from each litre. If I have some found films or some outdated film I want to mess around with I extend times a bit further after I have done the 15 rolls before ditching the solutions.

I have a couple of blog posts about my experiences with the Fuji Hunt kit, and in particular the number of rolls that can be developed with a kit. The latest post is here https://kevinthephotographer.wordpress.com/2018/07/04/explaining-the-fuji-hunt-c41-instructions/ and it includes a link to an earlier post.