Beginner Compact Cameras for nature?

Name
Keith
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all
Total newbie here on a very limited budget and needing advice.

I take lots of walks in the country, and today for example, I had a Buzzard circling overhead and a Skylark popping it's head out of the cereal seedlings about 40yrds away.

So can you get nice shots of thigs like these on a compact zoom camera like a Sony Cybershot, or would it be a waste of money?

For those sorts of things you need a lens that's the equivalent of a 30x telescope or better.

Look at cameras which have zooms described as 40x or more. Buying second hand from a dealer is relatively safe, although you're limited to the stock they have at the time. Don't be put off by people telling you that you need to spend a lot of money or have a big camera. There are several pocketable cameras that can do the job at a reasonable price.

Something like a second hand Panasonic TZ70 or Sony HX90 will be around £150 - £200 and will let you capture pictures like this, albeit with a little manipulation in the computer...

Robin singing TZ40 1000633.jpg
Crows on chimney Clyst St Mary HX90 DSC00026.JPGFrog in the garden TZ40 1020277.JPG

For those sorts of things you need a lens that's the equivalent of a 30x telescope or better.

Look at cameras which have zooms described as 40x or more. Buying second hand from a dealer is relatively safe, although you're limited to the stock they have at the time. Don't be put off by people telling you that you need to spend a lot of money or have a big camera. There are several pocketable cameras that can do the job at a reasonable price.

Something like a second hand Panasonic TZ70 or Sony HX90 will be around £150 - £200 and will let you capture pictures like this, albeit with a little manipulation in the computer...

View attachment 350522
View attachment 350523View attachment 350524