Beginner Complete amateur

Name
Martin
Edit My Images
Yes
Hey everyone

I'm Martin and I purchased the Nikon D3200 and up to now im really impressed with the camera. However as I am completely new to DSLR I wanted some help.

I got the standard lens 18-55mm with the camera and whilst this is a good lens it doesn't zoom in that well, I would ideally like to take pictures of wildlife and landscapes but also be able to use it for family occasions and special events.

Lenses seem really expensive especially if I was to go for just Nikon, can I use other branded lenses with my Nikon, if so do you think a 50-200mm would suffice, especially as a beginner?

*Mod edit*
Putting personal details on a forum this size is never a good idea.
Those spam bots just love people like you ;)
Removed to save your sanity and inbox crashing.

Last edited by a moderator:
Welcome martin, this forum offers plenty of advise.

I have a Nikon D3100 and D7000 and use both Nikon and Sigma lenses so to answer your question yes you can use different lenses just ensure you get the Nikon fit. I have a 70 - 300 sigma lens which was only £100 and it was my go to lens before I bought my sigma 150 - 500mm lens. I also have a 55-200mm Nikon lens which is a good lens to me. depends on budget to be honest.

Hi Martin,

just as Proud2btaff posted, you can use any manufacturers lens as long as it's a nikon mount, as for choice of size a lot comes down to your budget really..

Also martin I don't think the 3100 has focus motor in the body? so be careful of lens choice.

Also martin I don't think the 3100 has focus motor in the body? so be careful of lens choice.
Nope.. it doesn't... that was my first camera way back... so you'll need to make sure you choose a lens that has a focus motor in it.

Hi, thanks for your replies, very quick!