Beginner Complete Newbie, where to start?

Name
chris
Edit My Images
Yes
Good morning, as the title says, I am a complete newbie and I am more lost than ever after googling where to start, so thought the only course of action was to join a forum and ask the pros.

A little about myself, I am 41 and apart from the very odd pic from my phone I have never done any photography, I had a health scare last xmas and I decided I needed a hobby to take my mind of things and to relax, I have always been impressed with different photos I have seen and thought lets give it ago, as I feel this will be a rewarding hobby and encourage me to get out and about more, maybe even make some new friends.

So where to start, I have a very modest budget but I also want to do this right and try and avoid making mistakes,I would rather pay a little more now than buy something wrong and it cost more in the long run, as I have a very modest budget.

So the advice I need is this:-

Starting equipment for a complete novice.
How to get started once I have said equipment and what I need to know to improve ( websites, tutorials etc for a newbie )
What subject to photo that's more newbie friendly or does that not matter?
lastly, once I have a photo, what next? Do I need software on computer for example to get the best out of my photo before I print it?

Thanks for reading and thank you for taking the time to reply, I understand you will get these questions a lot and I tried to figure it out and saw that a "bridge" camera would be best, than saw a dslr was best, even said just get a compact and I have no idea what the difference is and there's such a wide range of prices, some eye watering, so all the help and advice i can get would be fantastic.

Last edited:
Hello Chris, welcome to the forum, I recently joined also.