Beginner Complete Newbie, where to start?

I'm going to be contentious and flippant... you start by seeing something worth pointing a camera at....
If you don't have a camera with you at the time.. well there is your first 'missed shot'.. no probs it would probably have been a duffer anyway..., but lesson learned is, next time take a camera...
What camera? Who CARES!!!!
Well.. every-one it seems! BUT.. don't sweat it... thing with 'photography' is that when you start to get 'in' to it, you start to loose sight of why you did it to begin with, and start spending more time looking AT the camera than through it... BE WARNED.. that is when it starts to get expensive, and you will tend to be spending ever more money, to get ever fewer 'photo's that you really like... 'cos your expectations will ramp with how big your credit card bill is, whilst the interest in what you have to point your camera at probably wont!
Lessons from history... way back when; the 'entry-level' camera for an aspiring enthusiast on the high-street was something like a Kodak Box Brownie... it had no mega-pixies, no mega-zoom range, no mega ANYTHING..