Contiguous Numbers

Name
Tony
Edit My Images
No
My photography is pretty chaotic. I'm still mostly a 'shoot what you see' kind of person. After an injury last year, I wanted even more to get out and just take photographs, but sometimes I would wander for hours without inspiration, get frustrated and question the whole point.

In order to give myself at least one goal when I was out, if I didn't have anything specific in mind, I decided to photograph contiguous numbers. By which I mean, find numbers in the environment, starting with 1, and then carrying on. I can't take shots in advance (i.e. no shooting 37 before 36 just because the 37 is a really good example), I try not to use the same kind of number twice in a row (i.e. house numbers), can't use parts of a number unless they're clearly separated, etc.

Anyway, I've been doing this since March 2017. I'm up to #46, trying to find a good #47.

Here's a link to the full album on Flickr - https://flic.kr/s/aHskWmNjLo

And a couple of numbers from the sequence.

#2 by Tony Evans, on Flickr

#11 by Tony Evans, on Flickr

#36 by Tony Evans, on Flickr

#39 by Tony Evans, on Flickr

Overall, I've found the project / theme really helpful. Sometimes I'm out with the camera for a specific purpose, and that's great. Other times I'm out and happy just to bimble around, but having the numbers in my head makes me look at the environment around me, and I see shots I would otherwise miss.

That's a crazy idea, project… I love it.

Why #39 and not #760?
Don't answer the question…

Last edited:
Smashing idea for a project Tony (y)
This could go on forever but do you have an end number in mind?

Smashing idea for a project Tony (y)
This could go on forever but do you have an end number in mind?