1. Dangermouse1964

    Dangermouse1964 Squeaky Clean

    Messages:
    10,048
    Name:
    Pete
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Having just done a search and not seen a dedicated thread for D810 owners I thought I would make one.

    I have just upgraded from a D700 to the D810 and would like to know how much of a difference I will see in IQ and speed as I will be mostly using it for aircraft, BBMF and fast jets.
    File size, is it an issue or should I just buy a 128GB card and have a smaller one as a backup (Tesco selling 128 Sandisk cheap)
     
  2. jamesev

    jamesev

    Messages:
    549
    Name:
    Jamesev
    Edit My Images:
    No
    What write speed is the card
     
  3. Dangermouse1964

    Dangermouse1964 Squeaky Clean

    Messages:
    10,048
    Name:
    Pete
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    I think it was 80mb/s if I remember, going in to get one today £33 they do a slightly cheaper micro SD at £32 and I think that was 100mb/s so will look at both
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2018
  4. gramps

    gramps

    Messages:
    31,605
    Edit My Images:
    No
    D810 isn't built for speed (5 fps) but gives extremely good IQ - Sandisk 95 mb/s SD and Sandisk Extreme Pro CF would be my min recommendation.
     
    Kinobe, NeilA1975 and Dangermouse1964 like this.
  5. Dangermouse1964

    Dangermouse1964 Squeaky Clean

    Messages:
    10,048
    Name:
    Pete
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Does the fps go up with a grip and EN-EL4 battery Gramps I think the grips take EN-EL4
     
  6. gramps

    gramps

    Messages:
    31,605
    Edit My Images:
    No
    AFAIK it doesn't, the only way to get up to 7 fps is to shoot in DX mode.
     
    Dangermouse1964 likes this.
  7. Dangermouse1964

    Dangermouse1964 Squeaky Clean

    Messages:
    10,048
    Name:
    Pete
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    5fps it is then, do you have a D810 Gramps, could you post a quick shot to see the IQ please
     
  8. jamesev

    jamesev

    Messages:
    549
    Name:
    Jamesev
    Edit My Images:
    No
    True but at 36mpx can generate RAW files of about 60mb so 90mb/s won’t allow 5fps anyway.
     
    Dangermouse1964 likes this.
  9. gramps

    gramps

    Messages:
    31,605
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I sold mine and now have the D850.
     
    Dangermouse1964 likes this.
  10. Dangermouse1964

    Dangermouse1964 Squeaky Clean

    Messages:
    10,048
    Name:
    Pete
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Are the RAW files in the buffer before transferring to card?
     
  11. realspeed

    realspeed

    Messages:
    5,688
    Name:
    Bazza
    Edit My Images:
    No
    first of all there has been a recent upgrade in the firmware so may pay to check on your version

    link

    http://downloadcenter.nikonimglib.com/en/products/176/D810.html


    there is an excellent book, far better than the Nikon manual

    https://blackwells.co.uk/bookshop/p...QK-MNYOiWPi7ANqgYDiT0FqdOpH_vMuYaAhYFEALw_wcB

    Re the grip can increase FPS slightly but you may well need the en-el18 or18a batteries. This would also mean a different charger and grip end cap. These are not cheap for what they are. I have them for my D300 but don't fit the D810 different shape .
    AS for IQ I was blown away with the difference from the D800 ,so from the D700 there is no comparison
    The D810 is less forgiving when taking photos so," at least I have had to" take that bit extra care to get it right

    What i did find if using the video part of the camera the red button was not easy the get at, so altered in the menu to have the stills button do the job when switched to video live view.

    No matter how good beforehand the lens is with the D810 it pays to fine tune it to the camera, I was surprised at the difference it made. Easy enough as i tethered it to the TV so i had a big screen to use for the adjustments,. I have a SpydelensCal which is ideal for he job. There is an electronic version which can do the set up intstead
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2018
    Dangermouse1964 likes this.
  12. Paulie-W

    Paulie-W

    Messages:
    5,075
    Name:
    Paul
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
  13. realspeed

    realspeed

    Messages:
    5,688
    Name:
    Bazza
    Edit My Images:
    No
    thee are 2 different size RAW files that can be used in the D810 so it depends on which one you use.
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2018
  14. Dangermouse1964

    Dangermouse1964 Squeaky Clean

    Messages:
    10,048
    Name:
    Pete
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Just been to Tesco and bought the Sandisk extreme as it was only a few quid more, but has the extra speed over the ultra card
     
  15. Dangermouse1964

    Dangermouse1964 Squeaky Clean

    Messages:
    10,048
    Name:
    Pete
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    I was afraid you may say that as I have 2 EN-EL4 batteries with the end cap sadly it doesn't look likely it will fit the D810 grip then.
     
  16. realspeed

    realspeed

    Messages:
    5,688
    Name:
    Bazza
    Edit My Images:
    No
    i have the same and no it won't fit the D810 the spring contacts are on the opposite side

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2018
  17. rob-nikon

    rob-nikon

    Messages:
    4,469
    Name:
    Rob
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    This will help deciding on memory cards for the d810.

    https://www.cameramemoryspeed.com/nikon-d810/fastest-sd-cf-card-speed-tests/

    I use a Sandisk extreme pro 95mb/s SD card and a lexar 1066x CF card in aD810. I was looking at the photography show for CF cards now Lexar are gone (I’m looking for a spare set for the times I’m away). They had the Sandisk extreme 120mbs but they are nearly half the speed of the Sandisk 160mbs so its worth looking at write speeds as they can be quite different to the speed advertised on the card (usually read speed).
     
  18. realspeed

    realspeed

    Messages:
    5,688
    Name:
    Bazza
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I use the Sandisk extreme pro 32 GB 160mb/s Cf cards ----and the Sandisk extreme pro 32gb 95mb's SD cards
    I did wonder about using the 64gb card but should it fail I will still have another anyway to carry on with..

    I also use the CF card as the main and the SD card as the backup. The CF card I have set for RAW files and the SD card for Jpeg fine and the SD card for any video as well, not that I use it as I have a camcorder. Never had any problems with either cards

    the video on the D810 needs everything to be in manual settings, ie lens and camera, therefore a tripod is really a must to leave the hands free for focus etc.

    Only alternative is a seperate mike well away from the camera but even then in auto mode the frames jump with the focus changing

    Far better to not use unless the focus distance doesn't change.

    large RAW CF 32GB card takes about 400 shots if that is any help
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2018
  19. realspeed

    realspeed

    Messages:
    5,688
    Name:
    Bazza
    Edit My Images:
    No
    My most used lens is the Nikon 24-70mm lens, it is before VR ones were made and works well on the D810 .
     
    Dave Semmens likes this.
  20. rob-nikon

    rob-nikon

    Messages:
    4,469
    Name:
    Rob
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    There was a very long but interesting thread recently that mentioned shooting RAW and jpeg, it was interesting to note that shooting RAW and jpeg compared to Raw & RAW slowed down the frame rate of a D500 as it had to write RAW to one slot, convert the second image to jpeg and write that to the second slot. As it’s seems to be a sequential write, the processing time to convert to jpeg took longer than just writing RAW to both. Whether it’s the same in the D810 I’m not sure as I haven’t tested it but I can see the reasoning behind it. I haven’t used JPEGs in years since moving to RAWs, personally I don’t see RAW and JPEG as backup as if I lose the RAW the jpeg file isn’t a direct replacement therefor not back up to the RAW file (I don’t change WB between shots so that would be a problem for me with a jpeg).
     
  21. realspeed

    realspeed

    Messages:
    5,688
    Name:
    Bazza
    Edit My Images:
    No

    Can't say i have noticed any slow down with RAW and J peg.

    here is the full spec.

    https://www.europe-nikon.com/en_GB/product/digital-cameras/slr/professional/d810#tech_specs

    battery pack increases FPS to 6

    https://www.europe-nikon.com/en_GB/...battery-packs/multi-power-battery-pack-mb-d12
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2018
  22. Dangermouse1964

    Dangermouse1964 Squeaky Clean

    Messages:
    10,048
    Name:
    Pete
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    The 5fps will be adequate for my needs as I rarely shoot in continuous mode anyway, but cheers for all the info on the cards, some good reading, now lets have a look at some D810 IQ
     
    Phiggys likes this.
  23. davekiddle

    davekiddle Like to feel muppets

    Messages:
    6,116
    Name:
    Dave
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Hi, anyone experiencing problems with using non-CPU lenses since updating to the latest firmware v 1.13?

    Please reply to this thread.
     
  24. realspeed

    realspeed

    Messages:
    5,688
    Name:
    Bazza
    Edit My Images:
    No
    shouldn't be any problems. if you go into setup menu and scroll down to Non CPU data and go to the right, that is where you can set up non CPU lens data for the camera
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2018
  25. Martipa

    Martipa

    Messages:
    318
    Name:
    Paul
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Phiggys and Dangermouse1964 like this.
  26. john_e

    john_e

    Messages:
    475
    Name:
    John
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I use a D810 predominantly for aviation and have done for three years now. Admittedly it’s not as fast as something like a D500 but as long as you don’t ‘spray and prey’ then it’s more than capable. Using as fast a card as possible will obviously help. A few examples of IQ...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  27. realspeed

    realspeed

    Messages:
    5,688
    Name:
    Bazza
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Sometimes I am out spoken about photos I don't like but at least they are my own honest opinions. Abstract or over edited photos I just don't understand. These of the aircraft do not fall into that segment by any means, they show what the eye sees but maybe a bit closer,
    So having said that when I say I do like them it is not because everyone else says the same. Well done
     
    Dangermouse1964 likes this.
  28. Dangermouse1964

    Dangermouse1964 Squeaky Clean

    Messages:
    10,048
    Name:
    Pete
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Theres no doubting, with the right lens, the D810 can capture some stunning shots looking at the few that have gone up already
     
  29. john_e

    john_e

    Messages:
    475
    Name:
    John
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Should probably have mentioned which lenses mine were taken with. The first one was with a 500 f4 VR and the second with a 200-500.
     
  30. realspeed

    realspeed

    Messages:
    5,688
    Name:
    Bazza
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Just been fine tuning My D810 with the Nikon afs 70-200mm f2.8 G11 ED VR lens. if there is only one lens as a must have it is this one. ok not cheap but well worth getting. On another thread I did mention about fine tuning with a monitor if using a desktop computer which is not needed.
    I used a SpyderlensCal set up outside with the camera tethered to the monitor indoors and that lens attached. best if the monitor has an HDMI socket, makes fine tuning so much easier with a live large screen

    [​IMG]
    photo with different lens not the 70-200 Live view as shot taken, You can just see the target tripod legs outside
    I did it properly this time with VR off - firm tripod- correct aperture- wired remote etc .
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2018
  31. Dangermouse1964

    Dangermouse1964 Squeaky Clean

    Messages:
    10,048
    Name:
    Pete
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    I finished work early so decided to pop to the local airfield just to get some quick shots to see how the D810 handles, I must say I am very pleased with it, a few days shooting this beast and I will have it sussed fully, not a lot happening but we did get one Sherburn aircraft in.

    [​IMG]
    1/125 f11 iso100 155mm and 30% crop
     
    SsSsSsSsSnake and Phiggys like this.
  32. realspeed

    realspeed

    Messages:
    5,688
    Name:
    Bazza
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Pete have you tried the video side of the camera yet? I have and wouldn't bother.I prefer to use my camcorder for that. Suppose it is ok as long as panning is not involved.
     
    Dangermouse1964 likes this.
  33. Dangermouse1964

    Dangermouse1964 Squeaky Clean

    Messages:
    10,048
    Name:
    Pete
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    No Baz to be honest I don't think I am bothered about videos, if I do then my S8+ is more than capable and gives decent results
     
  34. realspeed

    realspeed

    Messages:
    5,688
    Name:
    Bazza
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Phiggys, john_e and SsSsSsSsSnake like this.
  35. realspeed

    realspeed

    Messages:
    5,688
    Name:
    Bazza
    Edit My Images:
    No
  36. realspeed

    realspeed

    Messages:
    5,688
    Name:
    Bazza
    Edit My Images:
    No
    having done test shots around my house and matched lens to camera (calibration) hopefully if the weather is nice it is time to go on a trip out, possibly to Scotney Castle to see how the new camera compares to the D800 I used previously. shown as below

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2018
    Dave Semmens, john_e, Phiggys and 3 others like this.
  37. SsSsSsSsSnake

    SsSsSsSsSnake

    Messages:
    7,869
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    look forward to seeing similar shot
     
  38. rob-nikon

    rob-nikon

    Messages:
    4,469
    Name:
    Rob
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    One of the first images I’ve taken with the D810 since moving across. Taken with a 70-200 f4.

    [​IMG]Fox by -Rob'81-

    I have a few more that I will post at some point.
     
  39. realspeed

    realspeed

    Messages:
    5,688
    Name:
    Bazza
    Edit My Images:
    No
    ok just this minute got back tp post an unedited Jpeg straight from the camera. First difference Ii will have to get used to is working at a higher ISO than the D800 or so it seems. Don't forget this is an out and about test for me with a new camera

    photos below taken hand held

    [​IMG]

    Comparison shot to previous one totally unedited and from the Jpeg fine setting
    [​IMG]

    Nikon d810 with 24-70 f2,8 lens at 70mm . ISO 1600 @f16 shutter 1/800 sec

    aken from same place but lookin it was taken with my panasonic camcorder.

    Not looked at the RAW file yet but even with this I am staggered how sharp this one is even if clicking the enlarge bar at the top.
    Just goes to show ,in my opinion, how worth while matching camera and lens is together by fine tuning. ust looked at camera settings and didn't set it up to take RAW files. I was fiddling about with getting more light onto the sensor.

    Still that was the object of the exercise, getting used to the camera
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2018
    Phiggys and SsSsSsSsSnake like this.
  40. Dave Semmens

    Dave Semmens

    Messages:
    1,832
    Name:
    Dave
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Phiggys, Paulie-W, Tom Green and 7 others like this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice