D90 vd D7000

• Total voters
Name
Sesame
Edit My Images
No
Hey,

Sorry, me again...

I've been racking my brain about which Nikon DSLR to go with for a complete beginner...
I've looked at a number of options including Canon kit, but do know I prefer the feel & Menu of Nikon.

After looking at the 2nd hand options over the last few days I wanted to see what the learned friends of the forums think about which Nikon to go for between the D90 & D7000

I suspect I will get the standard answer that I've been hearing alot, i.e. that the body isn't as important as the Glass...let see.
Could I ask you add a comment to the thread too to explain your choice, please?

Thanks for your input in advance.

Regards,

Sesame

p.s. added Other myself d oI ican se the Poll reuslts..

Last edited:
Well I'm not a complete beginner and cant make up my mind between a D90, D7000 or maybe 'jump ship' :wacky: and look at the Canon 60D. However my reasons for humming and haring may not be the same as yours.

I was reading the dpr Preview Review on the D7000 this morning:

http://www.dpreview.com/previews/nikond7000/

The comment they made, "its not a beginners camera", so beware . . . I would point you in the direction of a D3100, D5000 or D90 . . .

CJS

D90.

I got one almost a year ago. It was my first DSLR yet, as a beginner, I found it easy to use and that it produces damn fine images.

I had been using a Panasonic Lumix compact digital for a year or so prior to getting the D90 and found the step up was a joy to make.

There's enough there to allow you to stretch and experiment with your photography.

I do loads of different stuff, from abstract to shooting children's football (even getting paid for one of my footy shoots:) ) and have not yet reached the point where I feel I need to progress onto a more advanced camera.

100% happy D90 user. (y)

PS. your comment about the feel of the Nikon is so important. You ain't gonna produce your best with something that feels uncomfortable to you.