Dilemna

Name
Steve
Edit My Images
Yes
I'm an overworked copier/printer engineer who covers the whole of the North of Scotland single-handedly.

I've worked my tripes off since I joined the company in January and because of the workload, haven't been able to take my remaining 14 days holidays owed.

My immediate manager is trying to wangle a deal with the M.D as we have an account with Sangers and I can get Canon stuff trade price.

If it comes off, I will have aprox £700 to spend on trade price Canon gear.

What would you spend the dosh on?
I'm considering the 17-40 L lens and a 580EX Flash to complement the 350d, kit lens, nifty fifty and 75-300 USM MkII

I can add dosh to it if this comes off.
Should I go for a 20d?

I like doing landscape stuff and also want to do more indoor work, especially with a baby on the way in Feb.

I feel like a tramp locked in a wine cellar overnight :ponders:

For me there is no dilemma, for landscapes the 17-40 is superb, for the new baby a 580 flash will fill in a big gap...and the 350d will take very high quality pics virtually identical to the 20D in the right hands.

Why change a great camera for something that is arguably better but miss out on a range (lens wise) that you require and the versatility of shooting and getting great results in otherwise difficult lighting conditions by adding in a 580 flash?

Thanks Steve :thumb:
It was a serious question BTW, not an 'I can get some nice new toys' post, which I cringed at when I revisted it :shock:
I have a long wishlist, most of which I'll probably never see in my lifetime.

I would like a 20d and it would be some time before I get an opportunity like this again, but I am so happy with the 350d and feel that with the right accessories it would be a stonking setup.

What I would like (a 1d or 1ds) and what I 'need' are 2 seperate issues.