DSLR video limits?

Name
Kevin
Edit My Images
Yes
Hello all...
I am only a hobby photographer but do some occasional dance photography with my Canon 70d.
A couple of years ago i was asked to video a dance show which i did with my DSLR.
At the time i had worries about the camera/sensor overheating as i had read a lot of stuff online about it (although nothing convincing either way)
The show was about two hours long and I completed it without any problems, it was a steep learning curve getting into the video side of it but i enjoyed the challenge.

I have now been asked to video a show for a different dance school, but this time it will be 4 shows over 2 days, each one about 2 1/2 hours each.
I haven't agreed to it yet as I'm pretty worried that all that work for my DSLR might be too much?
Has anyone here recorded that much video on their camera?
Will this be too much for the capabilities of my camera?

Thanks for reading and thanks in advance for any advice.

I've shot performances by a choir that lasted almost as long, using several cameras with different views (group, soloist, audience reaction) and edited them together afterwards. 128Gb cards did the trick with plenty to spare, even at 4K. Bit demanding on the PC, though :)

I suppose the thing to do is simply perform an experiment. For example, point your camera at a busy road (so that there's lots of movement to keep the processor active) and see if it will last for a bit longer that the required time

Ambient temperature likely makes a difference to overheating, but so long as the venue isn't an oven, you should be able to establish if you camera can last the course by shooting practically anything, then deleting it.

Good luck.

Last edited: