E & L insurance claim - repair estimates?

Edit My Images
No
Hi,

I have made a claim with E&L - I have been using them for probably over 4 years and this is the first claim I've made.

I've basically dropped my camera and cracked the casing of lens and my D70 seems to keep clicking and the flash doesn't stay down (there's probably other damage to lens mount etc as well.

E&L however have asked me to get 2 quotes for repair to prove the kit is beyond economic repair. Everyone I've called want's £25/£20 for this and E&L won't pay for this cost! Mad setup!

Does anyone know of any repair shops in Birmingham or Coventry? that might be able to take a look and just give me a quote saying beyone economic repair - the camera may be repairable but I doubt it! I'm sure it'd never function properly after a repair.

Thanks.

I doubt many places will do a free estimate, especially if it's an old camera like the D70 and as damaged as yours sounds and they're not going to get any work out of it.

Personally I'd pay the £25 and them get on with the battle of trying to extract money from E&L - best to thoroughly read their terms and conditions before submitting a claim, so that you don't inadvertently give them a reason not to pay out...

Oh and :welcome: to TP :wave:

A J Johnson will do a free estimate as well - I asked them how much it would be to do a bit of work on one of my "classic" lens.

Thank you for your enquiry, due to the nature of the fault we would need to
examine the equipment extensively before we could advise of the cost to repair.

Please forward the equipment to us with a copy of our emails, and we will
provide you with an estimate free of charge, which may be useful if you are
making an insurance claim against the equipment.

Further information is below if you wish to forward your camera to us, including
all our contact details and opening hours:-

Regards

• If your camera is suffering from:-