Early start photoshoot, what time?

Name
Dan
Edit My Images
No
I've been asked to do a musician photoshoot in some woodland with some Yew Trees in Kingley Vale

I've not been there before and I don't have time to check it out before Sunday.

What time does anyone recommend we go? sunrise is just gone 6am, I was thinking 7:30am but she would get up as early as we want, is it worth getting up earlier?

better to be there too early than too late, saying that its easier to gauge sunset as you can get set up in light conditions then wait for it, much m,ore comfortable

It'll take 55 minutes to drive there, 10 minutes walk from carpark and sunrise is at 6am, so I'd need to get up about 4:30am

The shoot will be inside the woodland, probably something like this

Now I've taken the dogs for an early walk before and seen magic light coming through the leaves - but it's not guaranteed by a long shot and whether it's necessary to be there for 6am is something I've never tried before.

But yes we could go at the end of the day instead.. maybe that would be a better plan.

It'll take 55 minutes to drive there, 10 minutes walk from carpark and sunrise is at 6am, so I'd need to get up about 4:30am

The shoot will be inside the woodland, probably something like this

Now I've taken the dogs for an early walk before and seen magic light coming through the leaves - but it's not guaranteed by a long shot and whether it's necessary to be there for 6am is something I've never tried before.

But yes we could go at the end of the day instead.. maybe that would be a better plan.
have a look on photo ephemeris, it will show you direction and times of sunrise and sunset, golden hours etc, really good app, you can pinpoint your location, not just today but way into the future so you can plan

Shooting at sundown you get there early and waqit on ythe light. Day break you also get there early and wait on the light!