External hard drive reccomendations

Name
Irina
Edit My Images
Yes
I am looking for something small/portable, reasonably priced to use with matchbook pro.
I've got advice (from another topic) to get few devices for backup my photos, so ideally two external hard drives.

Pretty much any USB 3.0 hard drive will do the job, they're commodity items nowadays. Pick a size and capacity to fit your budget.

Been using Toshiba Canvio Basics 1TB Portable External Hard Drive recently, amazon has them for about £50.

I had it before and it broke and i lost all my photos from several years :(
WD my passports in my experience are terrible for reliability.

had several personal ones in at work where they'd failed. and because the USB3 port is soldered to the drive inside you can't do the old trick of removing and putting into a new enclosure.

but yes as above, always have at least 2 copies of your data at all times.

I've been using Toshiba drives since 2009, 1TB and 2TB sizes in the desktop variety (i.e not portable, needs external power supply) without failure - I used to have one attached to my Macbook to do hourly backups using time machine.

We had one of the portable Samsung M3 drives (also available badged as Maxtor) that failed within a couple of months, and like Neil said about the WD passports, the USB port is soldered direct to the drive so you cannot replace the caddy & control circuits.

I learnt my lesson hard way, but I am also thinking of online storage as 3rd option, but not too keen pay on the monthly basis.

Mega gives you 50GB of cloud storage FREE, which these days is not much but is very handy and very easy to use and you can get various paid options;

www.mega.nz

I also use Seagate HDDs, like these:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Seagate-Ex...id=1478302343&sr=8-1&keywords=seagate+5TB+HDD

which I've had no trouble with over about 7 years or more in sizes from 2TB to 5TB.

Or you could get a caddy like these: